I’m already having a hard time getting back on to blog. There are so many things I want to write about that I think about during the day but when I finally get a moment to sit down and write, I forget it all!

Today I have thought a lot about what I have learned since becoming a mom 3 months ago.

  1. Selflessness. I cannot stress this one enough. Seriously. You are no longer your own person. You constantly have a baby attached to you and your needs come second, or third (because we know our husbands have needs too!). I need to take a shower but Sawyer just had his second blowout of the day, is hungry again even though he just nursed 30 minutes ago, the dogs need to go out, husband is hungry, literally anything else you can think of. It’s frustrating at times, especially when you’re used to being an individual person, sleeping until 9am on the weekends, binge watching Netflix with zero interruption, and well a whole 10 minutes of peace and quiet. Quiet time on my own is how I recharge. That is very rare these days.
  2. Sleep deprivation. I have amazed myself with what I am able to do and remember on very little sleep. Granted, it has gotten better as Sawyer gets older, and because we have been cosleeping (that’s another topic for another time) we get more sleep than before. But seriously, it’s amazing that I can get out the door fully dressed most days.
  3. The “Mommy Club.” Suddenly you find yourself a part of a club of other moms who have never been friends before and are suddenly all best friends. They meet up for play dates and are frankly a bunch of “know-it-alls” that push their own parenting styles on you and judge other moms who don’t do it like they do. I have chosen to not be a part of this mommy club for that reason. But that doesn’t stop them from the occasional, “You know, you shouldn’t put him in that because he could roll over and it could block his airway.” or “Watch the cat and dogs around him!” No duh, people.
  4. Judging. I often found myself judging certain parenting choices that people made before I was pregnant and when I was pregnant. Since becoming a mom, I have found myself doing some of those things. Like, cosleeping. I always said I’d never do it, until my one month old son would wake every 45 minutes throughout the night to nurse and I wasn’t getting any sleep. Or another like, letting him watch TV. Do I put him in front of the TV all day every day? Absolutely not. When it’s on does he tune into the movement and sounds coming from the TV? Yes. And sometimes it’s just enough to keep him occupied long enough so I can go pee.
  5. Superhuman powers. I will never forget the time that I nursed my son while cooking dinner at the same time! Now that’s some skill. I had already started dinner and he became fussy because he was hungry. I held him in one arm nursing him, using my other hand to stir and cook. I even managed to use a can opener while still nursing! I amaze myself sometimes. Not to mention being able to rock and sway and bounce and walk, no matter how much pain your body is in from doing those things all day. Still, I manage to continue doing them. And can I just say how amazing it is that MY body provided him everything he needed while he grew into a 9 lb 15 oz boy in my tummy, and MY body continues to provide for him every day! AMAZING!
  6. LOVE. The best one. I didn’t know I could love someone so much. He makes everything worth it. I can’t even put into words the love I feel for this little boy. He has stolen my heart. And all the ladies at the grocery store as well 😉

There are so many other things I have learned. This is just a short list (partially due to my scatter brain at the moment). I’m trying to squeeze this in, along with a million other things while Sawyer takes a cat nap. Until next time! (Hopefully soon!)

 

